DIY Pretty-Pushers Labor/Birthing Hospital Gown

I’m in my 2nd pregnancy, third trimester, and have been trying to think of ways to make this up-coming labor/delivery a more pleasant one. Last time I remember everything getting on my nerves, including the hospital gown. It wasn’t soft, and it was always opening and letting in drafts. So, I began a search online for options, I found Pretty Pushers brand hospital gowns that I really liked but I just couldn’t justify paying $40+ on one.

 I turned to Pintrest to find a DIY alternative. I only found one post Here. I thought I’d make my own and share my thoughts, pictures, tips, to help save other Preggo’s some money 🤑 as well as fill up their time waiting for baby!

Things you’ll need:

Cutting Utensils of your choice, pins…


Sewing Machine, but there is minimal sewing which  could be done by hand.


A piece of Jersey Knit Fabric, mine was 36″x60″, but you may need more or less… I’m 5’3″, and this worked out pretty well for my size/stature.

STEP 1: 


Fold your fabric in 1/2 length-wise and cut 2- 1″ strips from it. Then cut the strips at the fold line so you now have 4 pieces.


Then cut those in 1/2… You now have 8.


They are going to curl, that’s just the nature of the fabric. Feel free to use ribbon or anything else as closure ties instead. 

STEP 2:


Take the piece of fabric and drap it around yourself from your back, 

and bring it around front and pin (safety pin worked best) behind your neck.


*You want the fabric to fall just above your bottom, across your lower back to allow for epidural access- should it be wanted/needed. (Adjust pin behind neck accordingly)

STEP 3: 


Place pins down the front opening in 3 spot where you will want closures placed. Think: Bust, I ended up placing a snap closure here. Mid-belly, for fetal monitors, and Under-belly, for modesty😉
STEP4:


Sew on ties, at your pinned indicators.

  

*here I still have a tie closure at the bust, but I ended up wanting more coverage and went with a snap:

So I still have 4 ties left at this point…

STEP 5:


Again I put pins where I wanted to be able to put a closure tie around back when not needing everything exposed. And sewed them in place.

STEP 6:


Attach last 2 ties to the neck- Or if you kept the earlier ties as the bust closure, just sew the top together.

 I wanted to be able to untie to breast feed- but you could still do so, with it sewed together. 

*also this photo doesn’t show that I folded the ties over to double the fabric and make the ties stronger- and I reinforced the seam a lot, since most of the weight of the garment rests here.

Finished product! And I think it only cost me about $5 for the fabric!

I know the butt looks saggy- but when I’m in labor, I’m really not going to care…


All in all, I’m pretty happy with the outcome, especially the saved money, and feeling productive while not working at my job! 

Hope this can help someone! And, by all means, if you are a professional sewer/blogger take this as a jumping off point and make a better tutorial to flood Pintrest with! 

-Jamie

One thought on “DIY Pretty-Pushers Labor/Birthing Hospital Gown

Leave a comment